In a story that feels more like a plot for a kids movie than a real thing that’s happening in the modern age, there are a bunch of counties in Virginia that won’t let kids trick-or-treat after 8pm. The logic behind it is that there were a bunch of hooligans up to no good and the fine city fathers wanted to curb hooliganry. *shakes fist at the youth of American*
This story comes to us from the ACLU, who should really be funded forever.
In Chesapeake, Virginia, trick-or-treaters over 12 years old can be punished for trick-or-treating with a fine of “not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.” The potential penalty for asking for candy after 8 p.m., regardless of age? A maximum fine of $100, up to 30 days in jail, or both. Other Virginia cities, including Norfolk, Hampton, Suffolk, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach, have comparable age and time limitations on trick-or-treating, as do other localities across the country.
Some of Virginia’s local ordinances are even more restrictive. For instance, in Newport News, “no accompanying parent or guardian shall wear a mask of any type.” This local restriction runs counter to the exception created by the Virginia Legislature, which permits masks worn as part of “traditional holiday costumes.” This is an exemption to a state law that makes it a Class 6 felony, punishable by up to five years in jail, for any person over the age of 16 to “wear any mask, [or] hood… to conceal the identity of the wearer.” Now, that is scary.
So to all the kids in those uptight corners, it might be time to have one of those cool 1980s movie style parties and stick it to the man!